عامٌ من الإنجازات
رغم التحديات

من النادر أن تنظر شركة إلى المستقبل بتفاؤل وثقة كبيرين في الوقت الذي تُعاني فيه الأسواق من انخفاض في الأسعار، يؤدي إلى تراجع في ربحيتها. هذا هو حالنا في معادن في نهاية العام المالي 2016 م؛ فقد نجحنا في التعامل مع هذه المعادلة الشائكة؛ إذ نمد يداً للمستقبل وأخرى ندافع بها عن مكتسباتنا.
لقد أصبحت آليات الرقابة الداخلية وإدارة المخاطر أكثر قوة بمرور السنين، وذلك بفضل الإشراف النشط لمجلس الإدارة، سواء بشكل مباشر أو من خلال لجانه.

وهناك سببان يدفعاننا إلى هذا التفاؤل:

  • بدء الإنتاج التجاري لأهم مشروعاتنا الرئيسية في عام 2016م، والذي توج بتشريف خادم الحرمين الشريفين الملك سلمان بن عبدالعزيز آل سعود – أيده الله – مجمعات معادن الصناعية في مدينة رأس الخير الصناعية في29 نوفمبر 2016م، وتدشينه مصانع معادن العملاقة، ومشروعات البنى الأساسية التنموية التي أقامها شركاء النجاح.
  • تبني معادن لرؤية جديدة ضمن استراتيجيتها 2025م، والتي تم تكييفها لتتواءم مع مستجدات الأسعار العالمية للسلع المعدنية ولصناعة التعدين، وتواكب رؤية المملكة 2030م، وتتحين فرص النمو العالمية المحتملة.

ويعد تشريف خادم الحرمين الشريفين لمجمعات مصانع معادن في مدينة رأس الخير الصناعية الحدث الرئيس في تاريخ شركتنا، كونه يرمز إلى أعلى مستويات التقدير من القيادة لدور معادن في المساهمة في تنوع الصناعة السعودية والتنمية الاقتصادية الوطنية باعتبارها الركيزة الثالثة للصناعات السعودية. وتعتبر مدينة رأس الخير الصناعية رمزا لنجاحاتنا؛ إذ إنها أصبحت محوراً لصناعة التعدين في المملكة، حيث توجد فيها مجمعات مصانع الفوسفات والأمونيا والألومنيوم والدرفلة الخاصة بنا، إضافة لمشاريع البنى الأساسية الداعمة لقيام قطاع تعدين سعودي قوي، يعتمد أحدث التقنيات.

وتتمثل رؤية معادن الجديدة في أن تكون «رائدة استدامة قطاع التعدين وبحضور عالمي»، وتسعى استراتيجيتنا الجديدة إلى دمج هذين العنصرين الأساسين، الريادة والعالمية، مع خطط الأعمال التي ننفذها، والمحاور الرئيسية للاستراتيجية؛ والتي تم شرحها بالتفصيل في رسالة رئيس مجلس الإدارة، وكذلك في الفصل المخصص للاستراتيجية في هذا التقرير.

إنجازات عام 2016م
ما لا يُمكِن إنكاره أن النتائج المالية لعام 2016 جاءت أقل من الأعوام السابقة بكثير، لكنها كانت متوقعة، فالانخفاض الكبير في أسعار السلع، إضافة إلى المؤثرات الاقتصادية العالمية الأخرى كانت العوامل الرئيسية التي أثرت في أدائنا المالي. فقد انخفض صافي أرباحنا من 808 ملايين ريال في عام 2015م ليصل إلى 401 مليون ريال، وانخفضت عائداتنا السنوية بنسبة 13% لتصل إلى 9.51 مليار ريال مقابل 10.96 مليار ريال.

على أن معادن عززت مكانتها كمُصنّع بتكلفة مُنافسة، من خلال استمرارها في تحقيق الأرباح بشكل ثابت طوال فترة انخفاض الأسعار في الأسواق العالمية. ولقد أثبتنا مرونتنا خلال هذه الفترة من خلال إنجاز المشروعات الكبرى التي كانت قيد التنفيذ، مع التركيز على التميز التشغيلي، وإدارة تكاليفنا بعناية حيث وصل إجمالي أصولنا بنهاية عام 2016م 97.07 مليار ريال، بارتفاع قدره 7.69 مليار ريال عن عام 2015م، والذي بلغ إجمالي الأصول بنهايته 89.38 مليار ريال.

ومع ذلك، فإن هذه الأرقام لا تعكس الصورة الكاملة لحقيقة إنجازاتنا،.فخلال عام 2016م، حققنا عدداً من النجاحات، من خلال تكريس جهودنا لتقليل أثر انخفاض أسعار السلع مما سيكون له انعكاس إيجابي طويل المدى على أداء معادن وربحيتها.

ولقد شهد عام 2016م إنجازات مهمة تمثلت في بدء الإنتاج التجاري في أربعة مرافق رئيسية من مرافقنا الإنتاجية الجديدة، وهي: منجم الدويحي (للذهب)، ومنجم جبل صايد (للنحاس)، ومنجم البعيثة (للبوكسايت)، ومصفاة الألومينا (ضمن مجمع الألومنيوم برأس الخير). كما أننا أعلنّا في نهاية عام 2016 م البدء التشغيلي لمصنع الأمونيا في مدينة رأس الخير الصناعية، والذي يعتبر جزءاً من مجمع معادن العملاق لإنتاج الأسمدة الفوسفاتية في مدينة وعد الشمال.

كما اكتملت بشكل كبير أعمال بناء مشروع معادن وعد الشمال للفوسفات، فقد حققنا فيها تقدماً ملحوظاً، وتغلبنا على عدد من التحديات التي واجهتنا، وسيشهد عام2017م بداية العمل في مصانعنا في مشروع معادن وعد الشمال للفوسفات إن شاء الله.

لتميز التشغيلي
ظل التميز التشغيلي ركناً رئيسياً في استراتيجيتنا، ومحور اهتمامنا في جميع ما قمنا به على مدار العامين الماضيين للحد من أثر انخفاض أسعار السلع. كما لم يقتصر تركيزنا على التميز على عمليات التصنيع فحسب، بل شمل إدارة رأس المال، والتسويق والمبيعات، والموارد البشرية والخدمات العامة وجميع الوظائف الرئيسية في الشركة.

كما أننا أحرزنا في عام 2016م، تقدماً كبيراً في تحقيق مستويات أعلى من الكفاءة وخفض التكاليف وتحسين الإنتاجية، كما أطلقنا مبادرات لتعزيز السيولة النقدية في مختلف القطاعات والشركات التابعة من خلال برنامج (إتقان)، وهو البرنامج الذي يعنى بإدارة التحول في أعمال معادن. كما ساهمت مبادرتنا لدمج خدماتنا المُساندة في تحقيق هذه الانجازات وهي التي استهدفت عند اطلاقها خفض التكاليف وتعزيز الأداء.

 

ولقد عمل فريق معادن بجد واجتهاد خلال عام 2016م؛ لضمان نجاحنا في تنفيذ خططنا لزيادة الإنتاجية وخفض التكاليف. وكانت النتائج مشجعةً؛ فقد حققنا مستوى مرتفعاً من الأداء والإنتاجية، والتزمنا بتحقيق أهداف أعلى، خصوصاً فيما يتعلق بالبيئة، والصحة، والسلامة، والأمن. كما حققنا خفضاً كبيراً في التكاليف بلغت نسبته 26% في المصروفات العامة والتنفيذية، و23% في مجالات التسويق والمبيعات والخدمات اللوجستية، و20% في أعمال التشغيل للألومنيوم، و17% في الأسمدة الفوسفاتية و37٪ في الذهب.

ولقد تبنت معادن هدفاً استراتيجياً تمثل في أن تصبح إحدى الشركات الثلاث الأولى في المملكة التي يفضل الموظفون العمل فيها، وسنحقق هذه المكانة – بإذن الله – من خلال مواصلة تركيزنا على تطوير سياسات وإجراءات التدرج الوظيفي المبنية على الأداء، وتنمية مهارات القيادات، وتطوير برامج إشراك وإدماج الموظفين.

الاستدامة
تنظر معادن للاستدامة على أنها عنصر رئيسي في استراتيجيتها 2025م، ونحن ملتزمون بتعزيز برنامج معادن للاستدامة من خلال تبني أفضل المُمارسات والمعايير العالمية في عملياتنا، وفي إعداد تقاريرنا عن التطور في تنفيذها. وفي السنوات الأخيرة، تركزت جهودنا الخاصة بالاستدامة على تحقيق نتائج متميزة بشكل ثابت في مجالات البيئة والصحة والسلامة والأمن، وعلى تنفيذ برامج اجتماعية، ضمن المجتمعات المحيطة بمناجمنا، أتت بأثر إيجابي ومستدام، بما في ذلك تطوير الموارد البشرية المحلية.

ووفقاً لاستراتيجية الاستدامة لدينا، فقد حددنا عدداً من المبادرات، بحيث تكون لكل مبادرة أهدافها الواضحة، ومعايير استثمارية محددة. وهذه المبادرات مصنفة ومنظمة وفق سبعة من أهداف الأمم المتحدة السبعة عشر للتنمية المستدامة، وهي تشكل مجتمعة برنامج معادن للاستدامة.

الحوكمة وسلوكيات العمل
نواصل العمل لتعزيز نظم معادن للحوكمة والمخاطر والالتزام؛ حتى أصبحت آليات الرقابة الداخلية وإدارة المخاطر أكثر قوة بمرور السنين، بفضل الإشراف النشط لمجلس الإدارة، سواءً بشكل مباشر أو من خلال لجانه. وأصبح تركيزنا الآن مُنصباً على بناء ثقافة التزام قوية في معادن.

وقد طورنا خلال العام الماضي، برامج تعلم وتعاون محددة تهدف إلى تطوير الوعي وغرس امتثال قوي بالمعايير الأخلاقية والسلوكية العملية. وتشمل هذه البرامج كتيب قيم معادن، ومدونة قواعد السلوك المطبقة لديها، وسياسة مكافحة الفساد، التي تستند إلى أعلى المعايير العالمية، والتي أصبحت سارية المفعول في معادن وجميع شركاتها خلال عام 2016م.
التطلعات المستقبلية
ختاماً، أود أن أؤكد أن لدى معادن وقطاع التعدين دوراً مهماً في تحقيق أهداف خطط المملكة الصناعية والاقتصادية المستقبلية؛ فقيادتها لهذا القطاع تضع على عاتقها مسؤوليات رئيسية للمساهمة في تحقيق أهداف الرؤية الوطنية لقطاع التعدين، في وقت نأمل فيه أن توفر خططنا الهادفة إلى استكشاف الفرص العالمية إمكانات إضافية تثري هذا القطاع.

إنني على ثقة بأن رؤية معادن الجديدة واستراتيجية 2025م ستفتح – بعون الله – آفاقاً جديدةً للشركة، كما أنني ومجلس الإدارة والإدارة التنفيذية متفائلون بأن الأسواق العالمية في طريقها إلى الاستقرار، مُتطلعين في نفس الوقت إلى أداء مالي أفضل في عام 2017م، مُستندين إلى إنجازاتنا التشغيلية المتميزة.



خالد بن صالح المديفر
الرئيس وكبير المدراء التنفيذيين

Year of
achievements
despite challenges

It is very rare that a company can look to the future with heightened optimism and confidence at a time when markets and profitability are suffering. At Ma’aden, we are experiencing exactly that as we close the 2016 financial year. I am confident that Ma’aden’s new vision and the 2025 strategy will take the Group to new heights. Our internal control mechanisms and risk oversight have grown stronger over the years, with the active supervision of the Board of Directors, both directly and through its committees.

There are two reasons behind this optimism:

  • The substantial newly commercialized business in 2016, which was recognized when the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques King Salman Bin Abdulaziz Al Saud inaugurated Ras Al Khair industrial city and Ma’aden’s large-scale operations there on November 29, 2016.
  • Ma’aden’s adoption of new vision and 2025 strategy, building on our previous strategy, but revised to align our plans with Saudi Vision 2030 and potential opportunities for growth.

The King’s visit is one of the most meaningful events in the history of our company because it signals the highest level of recognition for Ma’aden’s role in industrial diversification and national economic development. Ras Al Khair is a symbol of our success as it has become the hub of Saudi Arabia’s mining industry and hosts our phosphate, ammonia and aluminium plants.

Ma’aden’s new vision is to be a sustainable Saudi mining champion with global presence and our new strategy seeks to integrate the two new elements in the vision with our business plans. The rationale to be the sustainable Saudi mining champion and the context of our global ambitions are explained in the Chairman’s message as well as in a dedicated strategy chapter in this report. Our vision and strategy are aligned with Saudi Vision 2030 and the NTP.

2016 achievements
Admittedly, the financial results for 2016 are lower than previous years, but not unexpected. The long-lasting commodity price downcycle and other global economic factors are driving our financial performance. Our net profit dropped to SAR401 million from SAR808 million and annual revenue declined by 13 percent to SAR9.51 billion from SAR10.96 billion.

Ma’aden has remained consistently profitable throughout the current global market downcycle that began in 2011, underlining our status as a low-cost producer. We proved our resilience during this period by completing the large-scale projects underway, focusing on operational excellence, and carefully managing our costs. Our total assets at the close of 2016 stood at SAR97.07 billion, up SAR7.69 billion from SAR89.38 billion at the end of 2015.

However, these figures do not tell the whole story of our achievements. During 2016, we achieved a number of successes and our determined efforts to manage the consequences of low commodity prices will have a long-term impact on Ma’aden’s performance and profitability.

Four of our new production facilities reached commercial production during the year: Ad Duwayhi mine (gold), Jabal Sayid mine (copper), Al Ba’itha mine (bauxite) and Ras Al Khair refinery (alumina). Just as the year ended, we announced the commercial startup of our ammonia plant at Ras Al Khair, which is part of our large-scale Wa’ad Al Shamal phosphate fertilizer value chain.

Construction work on other Wa’ad Al Shamal facilities has also progressed well. We overcame a number of challenges in Umm Wu’al, and will start seeing our Wa’ad Al Shamal plants start up in 2017.

Excellence and consolidation
Operational excellence, which remains a key pillar of our strategy, is the common theme in everything we have done over the past two years to mitigate the consequences of low commodity prices. Our emphasis on excellence is not limited to manufacturing operations, but includes the management of capital, marketing and sales, human resources and all other corporate functions.

In 2016, we made considerable progress in achieving higher levels of efficiency, cost reduction and productivity improvement. We also launched cash generation initiatives across the Group under ETGAN, our business transformation program. These were made possible partly through our initiative to consolidate resources with the specific goals of reducing costs and enhancing efficiency.

Our people worked hard throughout the year to ensure that we succeed in implementing Group-wide plans to

reduce costs and enhance efficiency. The results are heartening: we have achieved higher production and productivity and met higher Environment, Health, Safety and Security (EHSS) targets. We achieved significant cost reductions across general and administrative expenses (26 percent) exploration and technical services (65 percent), and marketing, sales and logistics (23 percent), while our cash cost of production fell 17 percent in phosphate fertilizer and 20 percent in aluminium. Our cash cost in gold increased by 36 percent due to the declaration of commercial production of Ad Duwayhi mine on April 1, 2016 and we are ramping up towards design capacity.

Ma’aden has adopted the goal of making the Group one of the top three employers of choice in Saudi Arabia. We will attain that position with our current focus on performance-based career progression, leadership development and employee engagement programs.

Sustainability
Sustainability is a key element in the 2025 strategy. We are committed to strengthening our sustainability program by adopting international mining industry standards at our operations as well as by reporting our progress in their implementation. In recent years, our sustainability efforts have focused on achieving consistently high results in Environment, Health, Safety and Security (EHSS), delivering community programs and optimizing the value from our assets and resources.

We have identified a number of initiatives under our sustainability strategy, each with clear objectives and investment criteria. These initiatives are broadly categorized under seven of the 17 United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), and will together make up a cohesive Ma’aden sustainability program.

Governance and ethics
We are continually working to enhance Ma’aden’s governance, risk and compliance systems. Our internal control mechanisms and risk oversight have grown stronger over the years, with the active supervision of the Board of Directors, both directly and through its committees.

Going beyond a step-by-step approach, our focus now is to build a strong compliance culture at Ma’aden. During the past year, we developed specific learning and engagement programs that are aimed at developing awareness and instilling stronger commitment to compliance and ethics. These programs include Ma’aden’s values, Code of Conduct and our anti-corruption policy, which is based on the highest global standards, and came into effect across Ma’aden and its subsidiaries during 2016.

Looking forward
In conclusion, I want to emphasize that Ma’aden and the mining industry have a crucial role to play in Saudi Arabia’s plans for the future. For Ma’aden, the aspiration to be the champion of the industry comes with major responsibilities to help

achieve the national vision for the sector. And over time our plans to explore global opportunities will offer exciting possibilities.

I am confident that Ma’aden’s new vision and the 2025 strategy will take the Group to new heights. I am also optimistic that the global markets have found their floor and we can look forward to a better market environment and a financial performance in 2017 that will match our operational achievements.



Khalid Bin Saleh Al-Mudaifer
President and CEO