تنمية الأعمال واستدامتها

تمثّل الموارد المعدنية واحتياطات الخام أصولاً أساسية في أعمال شركات التعدين.

تسعى شركة معادن لتعزيز قوتها، من خلال الإضافة المتواصلة لقاعدة مواردها المعدنية واحتياطات الخام، وإطالة عمر المناجم القائمة، حيث تقوم معادن بتجديد احتياطات الخام عبر الحصول على تراخيص جديدة، وتقييم إمكانات المناجم القائمة، والعمل على تطويرها وتقييم استكشافات جديدة.

المعايير العالمية ومعايير جورك
تعتمد معادن في تقاريرها النظام الصادر عن اللجنة المُشتركة لاحتياطات الخام في أستراليا (JORC)، والخاص بإعداد تقارير نتائج عمليات التنقيب والموارد المعدنية واحتياطات الخام في نسخته لعام 2012. جورك هو اختصار للجنة المشتركة لإحتياطات الخام في أستراليا وسيتم توضيحه أكثر في فهرس المصطلحات.
ويعدّ (جورك) نظام ممارسة متبع دولياً لتحديد معايير الحد الأدنى من المتطلبات لإعداد التقارير السنوية عن نتائج التنقيب والموارد المعدنية واحتياطات الخام، كما يتضمن هذا النظام قواعد ملزمة لتصنيف الموارد واحتياطات الخام.

تضع معايير (جورك) قواعد ملزمة لتصنيف الموارد المعدنية واحتياطات الخام وفقاً لمستويات الثقة بالمعلومات الجيولوجية والاعتبارات الفنية والاقتصادية في التقارير العامة. ويعتبر إعداد التقارير وفقاً لمعايير (جورك) أمراً ملزماً للشركات المساهمة العامة في قوانين بعض الدول أو ما يعادلها محلياً.

تقارير معادن
تطمح شركة معادن للإفصاح عن كل مواردها المعدنية واحتياطات الخام وفقاً لمعايير (جورك)، وذلك من خلال الاستعانة بشخص مختص كطرف ثالث مستقل لتقدير الموارد المعدنية.

ويعتبر «الشخص المختص» خبيراً في مجال التعدين وعضواً في جهة مهنية يعترف بها معايير جورك، كما عليه أن يتمتع أيضاً بعدد معين من الخبرات اللازمة في مجال التعدين، وقدراً من الكفاءة في النشاطات اللازمة؛ أي تقييم الموارد والاحتياطات وإعداد تقاريرها. وتعتبر موافقة معادن على اعتماد الشخص المختص لإجراء التقارير العامة صالحة اعتباراً من التاريخ الفعلي المعلن للتقدير.

بعض الاستثناءات:

  • التقديرات التي تم تحديثها داخلياً من قبل موظفي معادن بخلاف تعريف جورك للشخص المختص، فهي في العادة تقديرات تبين كمية الاستغلال السنوية الناتجة من عمليات التعدين، وهي عادةً، لا يتم الإعلان عنها وفقا لتعليمات معايير «جورك».
  • تقارير الموارد المعدنية واحتياطات الخام لجبل صايد، والتي قام بإعدادها شخص مختص بالنظام الكندي لإعداد التقارير (NI 43-101)، وهو يعادل نظام جورك 2012.
  • تم تقييم الخام في الرجوم في كل من وسيمة وأم نعام وفقاً لنسخة جورك 2004 القديمة، وسيتم تقييمها لاحقاً تبعاً لنسخة جورك الأخيرة 2012 والتي من المتوقع أن تنتهي في العام الحالي 2017م.

عدم اليقين في التقديرات

تنطوي تقديرات وتصنيفات احتياطات الخام والموارد المعدنية ودرجات التركيز، سواءً التي يتم استخراجها أو الاحتياطي المعد للإنتاج مستقبلاً، على درجة من عدم اليقين، فيجب اعتبار كمياتها ودرجاتها على أنها تقديرية؛ وذلك حتى يتم استخراجها ومعالجتها بالفعل.

وقد تبرهن تجارب الأداء التشغيلي، عبر الاختبارات المعملية صغيرة النطاق، أو المصانع التجريبية للإنتاج الواسع النطاق، على عدم صلاحية الخام؛ مما يؤثر في الاحتياطات المقدرة.

وبطبيعة الحال، فإن تقدير كميات احتياطات الخام والموارد المعدنية مرتبطة بتغير أسعار المعادن والتكاليف التشغيلية، والعوامل المتغيرة الأخرى.

كما أن نتائج الحفر، واختبار المعادن والإنتاج، وتقييم خطط التعدين اللاحقة لتاريخ أي تقديرات، قد تتطلب مراجعة تلك التقديرات.
إن أي تخفيض للمواد في الاحتياطات الخام قد تؤثر سلباً على أعمال الشركة المستقبلية ووضعها المالي ونتائج التشغيل.

أسعار السلع المستخدمة في التقديرات
تمت مراجعة أسعار السلع العالمية والعوامل المتغيرة الأخرى المستخدمة في تقدير الموارد المعدنية واحتياطات الخام عند الضرورة في التقارير السنوية.

وبالنسبة لعمليات الذهب تستند تقديرات الموارد المعدنية إلى 1300 دولار أمريكي/ أوقية، ويتم تقدير احتياطات الخام باستخدام سعر افتراضي، وهو 1100 دولار أمريكي/ أوقية. باستثناء مشروعي الوسيمة وأم نعام في الرجوم، التي قيمت احتياطاتها بـ 1465 دولار أمريكي/ أوقية.

أما بالنسبة لاحتياطات خام النحاس في منجم جبل صايد، فقد تم تحديد سعر النحاس بـ 2.25 دولار/ للرطل، تستخدم للتخطيط قصير المدى للعام 2020م، ويستخدم سعر 2.75 دولار للتخطيط طويل المدى.

وتتجه عمليات التعدين، التي استخدمت فيها معادن مواقع الصناعات التحويلية التي تدعم تصنيع موارد الصناعات الأساسية مثل الفوسفات والبوكسايت وأعمال المغنيزايت، إلى السوق العالمية للأسعار بصورة غير مباشرة. ويتم تقدير احتياطات الخام والموارد الطبيعية من خلال تحديدات خام المنجم، التي يزود بها مواقع الصناعات الأساسية.

ويتم تقرير موارد معادن المعدنية شاملة احتياطات الخام، باستثناء منجم جبل صايد للنحاس، حيث تم إدراج الموارد المعدنية الخاصة بمعادن غير شاملة لاحتياطات الخام في هذا المنجم ليكون متوافقاً مع نظام التقرير العام لشريكنا في المشروع.

وقد تم إدراج الموارد المعدنية واحتياطات الخام على أساس نسبة 100%، بغض النظر عن حجم ملكية شركة معادن في كل مشروع، كما تم توضيح ملكية معادن من الموارد المعدنية واحتياطات الخام في كل مشروع.

يتم تحديد درجة تركيز احتياطات الخام عنداستلامها في مصنع المعالجة. ويمثل التركيز أو الدرجة المعلنة كمية المعادن المقدرة أو محتويات المنتجات وتمثل درجة التركيز المعلنة كمية المعادن المقدرة قبل معالجتها والتي لم يتم تعديلها بنسب الاستخلاص في مصنع المعالجة.

تراخيص الاستكشاف
تَمنح رخص الاستكشاف الحق في استكشاف وتقييم احتياطات الخام دون الحق في تعدينها ما لم ينص على خلاف ذلك، وتَمنح تراخيص التعدين الحالية الحق في تعدين الاحتياطات التي تشتمل عليها تلك التراخيص.

والموارد المعدنية واحتياطات الخام الواردة في تراخيص الاستكشاف قيد التجديد، أو في التراخيص الجديدة حيز التنفيذ لا تلتزم بنظام (جورك) للتقارير. كما أنه ليس لدينا يقين في الحصول على تجديد للرخص، أو إصدار تراخيص جديدة.

التغييرات المادية في تقرير معادن 2015
إن أي تغييرات مادية في شكل الموارد المعدنية أو احتياطات الخام عن تلك التي وردت في التقرير السنوي لعام 2015م مذكورة في الهوامش التفسيرية التي ترد مباشرة بعد جداول الموارد المعدنية والاحتياطات.

Sustaining and growing the business

The mineral resources and ore reserves of a mining company are core assets forming the foundation of the business.

Ma’aden strives to create value by exploring and adding to our mineral resources and ore reserves to extend the operating life of our existing mines and to build new mines. We replenish and grow our ore reserves through exploration of our licenses and evaluation of new discoveries.

Global standards and JORC Code
Ma’aden is working to align our reporting with the standards and guidelines of the Australasian Code for Reporting of Exploration Results, Mineral Resources and Ore Reserves 2012 edition (the JORC Code). JORC is the acronym for Australasian Joint Ore Reserves Committee as described more fully in the Definitions section of this annual report.

The JORC Code is an internationally recognized professional code of practice that sets out the minimum standards and guidelines for the public reporting of mineral resources and ore reserves. In many overseas jurisdictions, the regulating authorities require mandatory compliance with the JORC Code or its local equivalent.

in compliance with the JORC Code, so far as possible, using estimates by an independent third-party Competent Persons to provide the estimates.

A ‘Competent Person’ is a minerals industry professional who is a member of a professional organization which is recognized by the JORC Code and who has the required years of relevant experience in the type of mineralization being estimated and the appropriate level of competence in the activity being undertaken i.e. resource and reserve estimation and reporting. The Competent Person consents for public reporting by Ma’aden are valid at the stated effective date of the estimate.

The exceptions are:

  • Estimates by Competent Persons which have been amended by Ma’aden employees who are not Competent Persons. These are usually estimates showing the progressive annual depletion of resources and reserves through mining, and are expressly not reported in compliance with the JORC Code.
  • The Jabal Sayid mineral resource and ore reserve estimates are estimated by a ‘Qualified Person’ under the National Instrument 43-101, a Canadian reporting standard that is a near equivalent to the JORC Code.
  • The Waseemah and Um Naam mineral resources at the Ar Rjum gold exploration project are reported in accordance with the obsolete 2004 edition of the JORC Code. A new mineral resource estimate in compliance with the JORC Code 2012 edition is in an advanced stage of preparation for completion in 2017.

Uncertainty of estimates
There is an inherent degree of uncertainty involved in the estimation and classification of estimated mineral resources and ore reserves compared with the actual mined tonnes and grades. Until mineral resources and ore reserves are mined and processed, the tonnes and grades in mineral resources and ore reserves must be considered as estimates only.

Mineral resources and ore reserves vary with changing metal prices, operating costs and other modifying factors, and are therefore dynamic. Ore reserve estimates have been determined based on long-term commodity price forecasts, capital expenditure and operating costs and economic cut-off grades. Where these assumptions change materially, the resource and the reserve must be updated and reported.

Extrapolation of operational performance from small-scale laboratory tests or pilot plants to full-scale production may not prove to be valid and may affect ore reserves. Changes in assumptions for overburden removal, process plant recoveries or other operational factors can influence the tonnage and grade of an ore reserve which then may affect the economic viability of a project.

Volumes, grades and recoveries of ore reserves actually mined and processed may not be the same as currently anticipated. The results of further drilling, metallurgical testing, mine production and mine planning, may require a previous ore reserve estimate to be revised. Any material reductions in ore reserves could have adverse effects on the company’s businesses, prospects, financial condition and operating results.

Prices used in estimate
The commodity prices and other modifying factors used in the estimation of mineral resources and ore reserves have been reviewed and adjusted where necessary in the annual reporting.
For gold, the mineral resource estimates are determined using a gold price of USD1,300 per troy ounce and ore reserves are estimated at a price of USD1,100 per troy ounce. The exceptions are the older mineral resources at Waseemah and Um Naam in the Ar Rjum exploration project, which are estimated at US1,465 per troy ounce.

For the Jabal Sayid copper ore reserve, a copper price of USD2.25 per pound is used for short term planning to the year 2020 while thereafter a price of USD2.75 per pound is applied for long term planning.
For those operations in which Ma’aden has a vertically integrated production enterprise, with an upstream mine supplying a downstream minerals processing facility, such as our phosphate, metallurgical bauxite and magnesite businesses, the mining operation is indirectly exposed to external market prices. For such operations, the estimated mineral resource and ore reserves are based on the specifications of a mine gate product supplied to a specification required by the downstream plant.

Ma’aden’s mineral resources are stated inclusive of ore reserves. The exception is our Jabal Sayid copper mine, where the mineral resource is reported exclusive of the ore reserves to be consistent with the public reporting of our joint venture partner.
Ma’aden’s mineral resources and ore reserves are stated on a 100 percent basis without allowance for Ma’aden’s ownership interest in each project. However, Ma’aden’s ownership interest in all projects is expressly stated for each mineral resource and ore reserve.

Ore reserves are defined at the point where the ore is delivered to the processing plant. The stated grade represents the estimated metal or product content as mined and has not been adjusted for metallurgical recovery in the processing plant.

Licenses to explore and mine
Exploration Licenses (ELs) confer the right to explore and evaluate, but not to develop and conduct mining operations.

Mining Licenses (MLs) confer the right to mine.

Mineral resource and ore reserve estimates on exploration licenses under renewal or new licenses pending grant are not reported in compliance with the JORC Code. While we expect licence renewals and new license applications will be granted, there is no certainty.

Material changes from 2015
Material changes in mineral resources and ore reserves from the 2015 Ma’aden Annual Report are explained in the pages immediately after the mineral resource and ore reserves tables.